New WGN Series “Underground” Chronicles Slaves’ Attempt at Freedom

Underground, Season 1, Episode 105 Photo Credit: /Sony Pictures Television
Underground, Season 1, Episode 105
Photo Credit: /Sony Pictures Television

Believe it or not, there are people (even some Black people), who don’t understand how and why racism still exists in 2016. Just as many are confused with its origins and are out of touch with the history of the physical enslavement of Black people. Misha Green and Joe Pokaski have created an original drama about slavery; chronicling the efforts of blacksmith, Noah, as he organizes a small group of his fellow slaves and crafts a plan of escape and freedom. Underground, executive produced by John Legend, will premier on Wednesday, March 9th at 10:00pm ET/PT on WGN.

In the premiere episode “The Macon 7”, Noah (Aldis Hodge) is determined to escape from the Macon Plantation.  After his first attempt to run is disguised as getting lost, despite traveling a route he had been on many times before, he begins to collect crucial information as well as brings together a team of fellow slaves to join him on his next attempt. In addition to Aldis Hodge (“Straight Outta Compton”),  Underground features an acclaimed cast, including Jurnee Smollett-Bell (“True Blood,” “Friday Night Lights”), her Jussie Smollett (“Empire”), Christopher Meloni (“Sin City: A Dame to Kill For”), Alano Miller (“Jane The Virgin”), ‎Jessica de Gouw (“Arrow,” “Dracula”), Marc Blucas (“Buffy the Vampire Slayer”), ‎Adina Porter (“The 100”), Mykelti Williamson (“Justified,” “24”), ‎Amirah Vann (“Girls,” “And So It Goes”), Johnny Ray Gill (“Rectify”), Chris Chalk (“Gotham”), Reed Diamond (“Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.”), Theodus Crane (“The Walking Dead”), James Lafferty (“One Tree Hill”) and Renwick Scott (“Treme”).

In addition to Legend’s role as executive producer, the Grammy and Academy Award-winning artist oversees Underground’s bold musical score embodying the rawness of the series.  Among the artists featured in the music for the series are Kanye West, The Weeknd, Raphael Saadiq and Grace Potter & The Nocturnals and Legend himself.

In celebration of the launch of Underground tomorrow night, fans are invited to “tweet up” with the cast and creative team as they live tweet during the premiere episode, @UndergroundWGN, #BreakFree. Their twitter handles are below.

The cast on Twitter:

Jurnee Smollett-Bell @jurneesmollett
Aldis Hodge @AldisHodge
Christopher Meloni @Chris_Meloni
Alano Miller @AlanoMiller
Jessica de Gouw @jessdegouw
Amirah Vann @amirahvann
Marc Blucas @marcblucas
Reed Diamond @reeddiamond
Johnny Ray Gill @JohnnyRayGill
Theodus Crane @theoduscrane
Mykelti Williamson @mykeltiwmson
Adina Porter @AdinaPorter
Jussie Smollett @jussiesmollett
Christopher Backus @_cbackus
PJ Marshall @ThePJMarshall
James Lafferty @ThisIsLafferty
Chris Chalk @chalkchris

The creative team on Twitter:

John Legend @johnlegend
Misha Green @mishatrillXXL
Joe Pokaski @JoePokaski
Anthony Hemingway @shinybootz
Akiva Goldsman @AkivaGoldsman
Mike Jackson @mikemjackson312
Ty Stiklorius @tystiklorius

To know where you’re going, you must know where you come from.

If you’re still not convinced that Underground is chatworthy, catch the trailer for the ground breaking new series below.

Keyauna Chantel

Writer, Blogger, Brand Ambassador, Influencer and Media Personality